Do You Lack Anything?

And He said to them, When I sent you out with no purse or [provision] bag or sandals, did you lack anything? They answered, Nothing!

                Luke 22:35 (AMP)

It is not by accident that Jesus was preparing His disciples for the time that was coming soon when His time with them would change. He would be taken, persecuted and nailed to a cross. He reminds them they have never lacked anything when He sent them out. He would be sending them out again.

Many years ago an associate of mine and I were talking about different things and the topic of lack came up in our conversation. She began to share with me about her spiritual beliefs concerning lacking nothing in her life.

It took me a moment in my naivete to get what she was saying. She spoke about not lacking anything in Christ. The difficulty I was having at the time was about how one did not lack anything even if they had no money or they lived paycheck to paycheck. What if someone had no food or not enough food? What if someone was disabled? I could not fully grasp what she was saying because I was thinking in terms of the material and physical world or in terms of the senses rather than the spiritual realm.

It was not until years later that I not only got what she was talking about but I believed at a very deep level that I lacked nothing because I had Jesus Christ in my heart. I was a born again believer.

There have been times in my life when I have not had material things or had very little food and at times no money and yet I lacked nothing. I trusted the Word of God. I relied on the Holy Spirit to direct and guide me. Jesus was my anchor. I prayed and I lacked nothing. All my needs were taken care of in ways I could never imagine. I was blessed and I still am today.

In the past I associated having with what I could see, touch, hear, smell or taste. From the Word, I have been taught about what I have as my inheritance because of Jesus Christ. I have what the Word says I have whether my senses indicate it or not.

I invite you to ask yourself, as a believer in Christ do you really lack anything today?

Peace & Blessings,
Barbara J. Couch, MDiv.

Leave a Reply

